SOS (Save Our Shores) – Abita Brewing (Abita Springs, LA) Bi-Weekly Beer Review Episode 5

Bi-Weekly Beer Review Episode 5

SOS (Save Our Shores) – Abita Brewing (Abita Springs, LA) – Weizen Pilsner – ABV 7% 4 out of 5

I was at my local BevMo looking for a few beers to get some badges on untappd. I was looking for one Pilsner to get the Crisp as day badge. I found this pilsner from Abita brewing. I picked it up because I like Abita very much. Then I looked at the label and saw this message which made me say yes I support that I must buy this beer it’s the perfect one for this Badge.

“Save Our Shore this Abita Brew is a message in a bottle: a distress signal for the troubled waters of our Gulf Coast. For every bottle sold Abita will donate 75cents to the rescue and restoration of the environment, industry and individuals fighting to survive this disastrous oil spill. Want to do more? Visit Abita.com

The Color is light yellow but not see through (from being unfiltered) with fizzy bubbly carbonation and nice thick white head. The scent is fruity, light and crisp scent while being hoppy. Taste is light crisp and I’m gettng a light fruity banana flavor. I like this pilsner, it better then your average pilsner. Also at 7% ABV it is stronger then your average Pilsner.

I drank this beer while watching the USA vs. Portugal World Cup match to root on the USA!

20140623-175632-64592933.jpg

2 thoughts on “SOS (Save Our Shores) – Abita Brewing (Abita Springs, LA) Bi-Weekly Beer Review Episode 5

  1. Wish my local liquor store had this… drink beer and support a good cause! Can’t beat that! I purchased another Abita pilsner last weekend – Seersucker Summer Pils – and enjoyed it. Maybe you can drink this fro USA vs. Germany!

Leave a Reply

