Shipyard – Bourbon Barrel Aged Smashed Pumpkin

Shipyard – Bourbon Barrel Aged Smashed Pumpkin Limited Edition 2013 Bottle Number 01227 – ABV 12% before this beer was released there was much talk about this beer and anticipation of the bottle releases. I first heard of it when Cask and Flask released a picture of it on the announce day and of course I shared it. The next morning everyone I knew was talking about were they were getting their bottles. I went that night to Royal liqueur across the street from my house and asked the owner when they were getting their shipment and it happened to be in Two days.

I went two days later and sure enough it was in the back walk in fridge on the top shelf. I sat on it a week or so then opened it with beer Jesus and Moises. The scent is amazing with oak and bourbon hints. Strong spices are also in the smell of this beer. The color is dark reddish brown. The flavor is a strong spicy pumpkin taste like you would expect in a pumpkin pie. The flavor lacked the oak and bourbon hint I hoped for but did have the strong alcohol burn and was a thick liquid. I rated it a 4.5 as it was a great beer but the flavor wasn’t what I wanted and expected.

20131003-175051.jpg

Leave a Reply

