The Bruery Tap take over December 20th 2012

December 20th 2012 Harry’s Hofbrau San Jose, CA The Bruery tap take over pint night. Autumn Maple, 12 days of Christmas – 5 Golden Rings, Smoking Wood Rye barrel-aged, Rugbrod brown, and Mischief on draft

12 days of Christmas – 5 Golden Rings
winter seasonal brewed with cinnamon, allspice and ginger along with the delicious sweet and tangy flavor of pineapple ABV 11.5%

A cloudy unfiltered look with a orange, light amber color. A orange peel aftertaste with complex hoppy flavor. I like it for sure

20121220-182547.jpg

Autumn Maple
Brewed with 17 lbs. of yams per barrel and with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, vanilla, molasses, and maple syrup, and fermented their traditional Belgian yeast strain ABV 10.00%

A very dark red color. Strong flavor with a hard bite. The smell if red apples and my friend says a almost Belgian white, you can tell it will fizz and slit carrot sent.

20121220-202947.jpg

Smoking Wood
Brewed with beachwood and cherrywood smoked malt, and aged in rye whiskey barrels ABV 10%

Very dark black color like a porter. The smell perked me up made me really happy because it had that oak cask aged beer smell. I tasted it and was punched in the mouth with intense Smokey “oak cask aged” flavor. It is so complex the flavors change in you mouth and the after taste a a light smokey almost rye whisky flavor

20121220-192613.jpg

Fruet
This was a bottle not tap but was VERY good. My friend Jesse got the last bottle and I got about half the bottle. I smelled it and could tell its a oak cask aged ale so I grabbed the bottle to look and yup it’s aged it bourbon casks. YES! It was darker color. Creamer the the smoking wood. This is right up My alley this was my favorite that the Bruery made. Old Ale ABV 15.50%

20121220-202247.jpg

20121220-202328.jpg

20121220-202341.jpg

Tart of Darkness
Sour stout aged in oak barrels sour black ale ABV 5.60%

First off the beers so far we have been drinking are good craft high ABV content so forgive my intoxication from this point on. The smell I get a light hint of oak barrel aged ale but the tartness come through on the smell. The taste is strong with tart and this black ale has a kick, it is not very thick but full bodied. The after taste I get a Smokey flavor.

20121220-220755.jpg

20121220-220803.jpg

20121220-220809.jpg

Black Albert Royal Stout
This bottle was given to my beer partner Jesse by the head beer guy at Harry’s. Holy crap this is a amazing strong ale this is a $22 12 oz bottle ABV 13.00%

20121220-224238.jpg

Firestone Sucaba
This bottle was also given to my beer partner Jesse by the head beer guy. High ABV, strong flavor, very limited, this oak aged ale is super strong and high quality. This is a $25 bottle. ABV 12.50%

20121220-225205.jpg

20121221-091801.jpg

Summary is The Bruery beer is good high quality brewery but the beer guy here said the lower quality beers like the mischief and rugbrod are not worth drinking so we didn’t. It was a good night for Oak Cask aged ale which is my favorite brews.

Audrey, Christine an Jeremy are super knowledgeable about the beer they serve at Harry’s Hofbrau talk to one of them if you go there

Day After info: I had a great time last night had good company my beer drinking partner Jesse, a coworker of ours and his BF, the servers at Harry’s, we met a good group of guys that were drinking high quality beers and were knowledgeable about beer. I dont drink beer to get drunk but these brews had such high ABVs I did get drunk.

Leave a Reply

